Ian Talbot: Retrospective – Tagged :: Fingering The Edge







Chapter XXI of the ongoing series Ian Talbot : Retrospective by British fine art photographer Ian Talbot.







Tagged :: Fingering The Edge



© Ian Talbot


“Self-portraiture is a singular in-turned art. Something eerie lurks in its fingering of the edge between seer and seen.” Julian Bell


Part of my “Self Portrait” series, this is me photographing an imagined scenario I shall never witness. The tag in the image is the one I acquired at birth, the imagined scenario depicted represents the end of earthly existence. So in the truest sense I am here “fingering the edges” of self awareness, beginning and end.

My wife has said that she finds this a painful image to look at; for myself, in truth, I think no more about death and what may follow than I do about the time before my birth. Birth and death are perhaps the only two “facts” about ourselves that we can truly be sure of yet each is ultimately unknowable. It could be said that the only important point of existence is what happens between those two “markers” but important to whom? The trace you leave may live on in the memories of others yet they too will one day be gone. It may matter now but this may not always be so. It is given to very few to live on in the “collective” memory. For most of us when those with personal memories are gone too, as in Hamlet’s last words, the rest IS silence.


    Ian Talbot

Leave a Reply

 
