Ian Talbot: Retrospective – Two Mirrors :: Environmental Codes







Chapter XII of the ongoing series Ian Talbot : Retrospective by British fine art photographer Ian Talbot.







Two Mirrors :: Environmental Codes



© Ian Talbot


“Order is, at one and the same time, that which is given in things as their inner law…” Michel Foucault



    This image is another from my self portrait series “Fingering The Edge”. Why a series of images of seemingly random elements of my home environment? Well, actually it has nothing to do with the objects etc. shown here. The real subject matter of these shots is the arrangement of these elements. What delights my eye most is the order of the elements, their placement within the frame, the spaces between them, the intervals.

    As I move around the house it is catching sight of the various elements and framing them in my mind that gives me the greatest joy. Actually picking up a camera and recording the images I make in my head everyday was really a no brainer. One of the easiest set of images I have ever made.


    Ian Talbot

    Text & image © Ian Talbot





Next : Chapter XIII – Moholy :: Objectivity


Leave a Reply

 
