Ian Talbot: Retrospective – Style :: Fingering The Edge







Chapter XI of the ongoing series Ian Talbot : Retrospective by British fine art photographer Ian Talbot.







Style :: Fingering The Edge



© Ian Talbot


“Le style c’est l’homme même” Georges-Louis Leclerc, Comte de Buffon



    The actual title of the image here is “Armani Jacket, Nicole Farhi Shirt, Dolce & Gabbana Cravatte and Grey Armani Jeans”. Put that way I guess it sounds a little pretentious but this was part of an extended self portrait project and I do own the clothes in the image. I would also point you towards the quote above.

    Affecting to despise dress style and fashion is often a particularly favourite badge of honour worn by those who equate “artistic” with looking like a bag of shite. This is, of course, in itself a “fashion statement”; sadly “striking the pose” of being an artist has never been a sure guarantee that someone actually is. Art takes place in the mind not in the back pocket of one’s dime store pants.

    There is also at the heart of fashion and style something aspirational too. The image one likes to present to the world can just as easily mask as to reveal one’s true self. As I have said, I own the clothes shown here but I hardly, if ever, wear them. The images in this series were part of a “self portrait” after all and so, I guess, that must say something about me.

    A friend of mine recently commented that I like blur and movement in photographs, a certain “unfocused” look. That’s as may be but when I use it, as I have here, I usually combine movement and long shutter speeds with a smidgeon of direct flash which has the effect of mixing a perfectly sharp image in with the blurred elements. That just to set the record straight!


    Ian Talbot

    Text & image © Ian Talbot





Next : Chapter XII – Two Mirrors :: Environmental Codes


Leave a Reply

 
