Ian Talbot: Retrospective – Made In Italy : The Style Guide







Chapter IV of the ongoing series Ian Talbot : Retrospective by British fine art photographer Ian Talbot.







Made In Italy : The Style Guide



© Ian Talbot


“The difference between style and fashion is quality.” Giorgio Armani



    You could also maybe add that fashion dates but style is timeless, but, of course, that is just another meaningless truism. The whole point of fashion is that it is “of its time”. Neither is style exactly “timeless”, just that bit less ephemeral.

    In this series of images I have tried to sum up some of the brands and labels that, for me, best express style as opposed to fashion, though some may express both. These brands, you may note, do not necessarily express “my” style. If I have a “style” then it is best expressed by photographic style, in the “look” of the images if you like. In a phrase, simple elegance is what I most strive for in my work. If I am more or less successful is, perhaps, not for me to judge…

    I chose this particular image here because, individual brands and labels aside, the simple label “Made In Italy” seemed to me to best sum up for many people dress style at its most recognisable. It is certainly an expression of a certain style, lifestyle even, in particular that I have always felt drawn to. But I guess I am hardly alone there.

    Ian Talbot

    Text & image © Ian Talbot



Next week
Garlic : Objectivity


One Response to “Ian Talbot: Retrospective – Made In Italy : The Style Guide”

  1. This is the difference between ambiguity and authenticity. Real is not made up

Leave a Reply

 
